Contact us

Awards & Recognition


Institutional Award in the Field of Science and Technology 2017

Government of Assam conferred the “Institutional Award in the Field of Science and Technology 2017” to Aaranyak.


Lighthouse Activity Award 2014

Aaranyak received Prestigious “Lighthouse Activity Award 2014” for Community Based Flood Early Warning System (CB-FEWS).


Sansad Adarsha Gram Yojana- Good Practices Award 2015

Aaranyak received the ' Sansad Adarsha Gram Yojana- Good Practices Award', from the Ministry of Rural Development, Govt. of India during an event in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh, on 24th September 2015.
The award was conferred for the 'Traditional Community Managed Irrigation System in Subankhata, Baksa District, Assam, jointly to Aaranyak and the Uttar Ancholik Dong Bundh Committee, Subankhata.


2012 Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Purashkar

Government of India conferred “Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar-2012” for significant and measurable contributions in the field of environment protection and improvement.


2011 RBS 'Earth Heroes' Award

Royal Bank of Scotland conferred the RBS 'Earth Guardian'Award 2011 to Aaranyak under its RBS 'Earth Heroes' Awards 

The RBS 'Earth Heroes' Awards, recognize and honor individuals and institutions who have worked exceptionally hard to preserve and protect ecosystems. 




SIRO Recognition for Aaranyak:

The Department of Scientific and Industrial Research under the Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India, has recognized Aaranyak as a “Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (SIRO)” with effect from 27 Feb 2006 based on the salient research work carried out by the researchers of Aaranyak.

Outstanding Award by Aaranyak Scientist:

Dr M Firoz Ahmed, Head of the Tiger Research and Conservation Initiative of Aaranyak has selected for the Carl Zeiss Wildlife Conservation Awards 2011. The award ceremony was held on 1 April 2011 at 7pm at the India Habitat Center, New Delhi.

The Carl Zeiss Wildlife Conservation Award is given annually to wildlife conservationists, researchers and managers for their outstanding contribution in wildlife conservation and research. Some of the alumni of the award are Dr Y V Jhala, Qamar Qureshi, Sekhar Dattatri, Prerna Bindra, Tana Tapi etc.

Aaranyak joins the IUCN:

Aaranyak has joined the worlds largest conservation organisation - the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources as a member. The IUCN Council, at its 75th meeting held in Gland from 18-20 November 2010, approved the admission of Aaranyak as a Member of the Union in the category national non-governmental organization.

Aaranyak becomes NWBL member:

Aaranyak has been selected as a member of the National Board for Wildlife effective from October 2010. The NWBL was set up under the Ministry of Environment and Forests and is chaired by the Prime Minister.

Secretary General becomes ICFRE member:

Effective November 2010 Dr Bibhab Talukdar, Secretary General of Aaranyak has been selected as a member of Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE).

Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE), an apex body in the national forestry research system, has been undertaking the holistic development of forestry research through need based planning, promoting, conducting and coordinating research, education and extension covering all aspects of forestry. The Council deals with the solution based forestry research in tune with the emerging issues in the sector, including global concerns such as climate change, conservation of biological diversity, combating desertification and sustainable management and development of resources. Topical research by the Council enhances public confidence in the ability of forest managers and researchers to successfully handle challenges related to natural resource management.